Low Carbohydrate Kande Pohe – Modification of Famous Maharashtrian Breakfast.

In Maharashtra India, one of the favorite and popular breakfast is Kande Pohe. ( Onion sauteed flattened rice.) You will hardly find anybody in Maharashtra State who does not like Pohe. The first meeting of the arranged marriage was called chaha-pohyancha karyakram in olden days. Personally I love eating kande pohe made by my mom. My mom is a great cook. She is like annapurna ( the Indian goddess who loves feeding people good food. ) She makes so many tasty dishes and my favorite one for the breakfast is her pohe.

Before I had CGMS on me, weekly once or twice I would eat pohe and upma like any other hard core Maharashtrian person. Since I had CGMS( Continuous Glucose Monitering System) , I started noticing early rise in my blood glucose. Then I started experimenting with my breakfast to have stable blood glucose. I stopped buying pohe and making pohe. But I was missing my beloved pohe. You really can not stop at one or two ounces of ready pohe. And then dealing with after effects of high blood glucose is frustrating to me. Long story short, I accepted low carb breakfast as a part of my life for maintaing blood glucose. I accepted eggs as one of my principal breakfast foods. And just two days back, I discovered low carb version of Pohe! Yes Pohe and low carb! I mean they are not real pohe obviously but my husband and my sister in law’s husband said it was good substitute for health freaks who want to enjoy pohe without carbs.

Now I have to tell you the exact story behind low carb pohe. – Here it goes… I was making my usual 2 eggs omelette breakfast with veggies. This time I sauteed onion and green chilies and then I was about to make omelette. I started craving something nutty. I added few peanuts in sauteed onions and fried them. I remembered this was the first step of making pohe. I reluctantly added my egg mixture to eat and scrambled it. When eggs were cooked and there was no moisture , I removed it from the gas stove and added a dash of lemon juice. It tasted just like kande pohe! 🙂 I was shocked. Really!! So I prepared it two more times and had my husband and sister in law and her husband tasted it. I even made regular pohe on the side just to compare. ( A researcher in me could not sit still.) Then I realized that pohe by themselves are bland. The sauted onions, fried peanuts, green chillies and dash of lemon juice is what gives the taste to pohe. So here is my recipe for low carb pohe.

LOW CARB KANDE POHE: Makes for two

iNGREDIENTS: 1. Diced Onions.- 1/4th cup. ( You can add as much or as little as you want.)

2. Green chilies- 3-4( again your taste)

3. Peanuts raw.- 1/4th cup.

4. oil- 2 tsp

5. mustard seeds and cumin seeds- 1/4th tsp.

6.  Turmerice powder – for the color.

7. salt to taste.

8. Four large eggs- beaten.

9. Curry leaves – 3-4.

IMG_0246

METHOD: Heat oil in a pan and add mustard seeds to it. After they are cracked, add cumin seeds and peanuts. Fry them until the peanuts are nicely fried. Add onions and fry them till they are translucent. Add green chillies and curry leaves. Saute for 2-3 minutes. Meanwhile add little salt to beaten egg and make scrambled eggs. The mixture should be dry and well done. IMG_0249 IMG_0250

If the egg mixture is large lumps like shown in the above picture, then break it down into small pieces.

Add scrambled eggs to the peanut and onion mixture. Mix well. Add salt to taste, turmeric powder for color and cover it with lid for 2-3 minutes. Remove from the stove and add lemon juice according to taste. Serve hot.

IMG_0254

NOTE:  If you do not like egg smell, you will not like it. It does not taste good when cold. The total carbs in a serving is around 10gms.

If you want you can add half quantity of pohe and half of scrambled egg to make high protein low carb pohe. Enjoy!

Let me know what do you think.

Leave a Reply

